Visitors

Ok, ok…I’m a little bad at this blog thing. I have a few posts “in the works,” but haven’t had the time to really sit down and get them up and going. Unfortunately, between starting language classes, hosting visitors, and coming down with the cough of death, this little blog has been on the back burner for awhile. Hopefully, though, I’ll get into a better rhythm balancing it all. The cold weather is upon us now, so I have a feeling there are many days to come snuggled up with a blanket and hot tea…a perfect blogging atmosphere. In the meantime, I’ll catch you up on the exciting weekend I had about two weeks ago.

Two of my American friends were able to come to town and visit for a few days. Their trip was short and seemed to fly by so quickly, but I’m super grateful for the time we got to spend catching up and hanging out. Emi flew in Thursday night and Susan followed the next morning (after a 3 hour plane delay in Miami, bless her), and we spent the next few days doing lots of touristy things and tip-toeing our way around my very crowded apartment. I was actually quite impressed at how much we managed to cram into what little time we had. In three days we were able to squeeze in trips to the Arc de Triomphe, Eiffel Tower, Notre Dame, Musee d’Orsay, Versailles, shopping on the Champs-Elysees, all while still having time to relax at cafes, browse quaint little shops, and eat delicious dinners out. It was quite a grey and drizzly weekend, but we didn’t let that get us down. In fact, I find something quite lovely about Paris in the rain (except for the part where you have cold, wet feet all the time).

With my little camera cord still lost in the postal abyss (oh French mail, why are you so complicated?), I’ve stolen a few pictures off my friends’ cameras from the weekend. These are the highlights:

Me and Susan at the little park on my street

At the Arc de Triomphe

Underneath the Eiffel Tower

We love you, Paris!

Notre Dame in the rain

Me and Susan in front of the palace at Versailles…

…and me and Emilie on the back lawn.

The gardens at Versailles…just before the rain came again

2 thoughts on “Visitors

  1. You are inspiring me, Megan! Reading your posts is helping me plan my trip next June! Keep on blogging, some of us are living precariously through your adventures!

Leave a Reply

